February 10, 2012

In class yesterday, we split up into two groups to discuss our own literacy narrative’s. I think that over all this was a nice experience, because we got to listen to everyone’s story. Everyone read about how they first learned how to read or write. Many people shared their memories of the time they first picked up a book. I think it’t really incredible how most of us can remember books that we loved as infants eventhough that was so many years ago. After listening to my classmates literacy narrative’s I got a better idea how to start my own. It isn’t easy to look back at our younger years, and to remember the little details of when we first started to become familar with reading, and writing. I wrote my literacy narrative about reading, from the start of when I first learned my A,B,C’s all the way up until I was a senior in highschool. Overall I really enjoyed this workshop. It made me realize the journey I took to become the reader I am today. Every memory I thought of led to another.